The Man of Tomorrow is forged by his battles today.” (15-21 Jan 2024)

Halfway through the first phase of my sub-17 training, I have the sense of “point of no return”; the training should be yielding results and it becoming clearer as to what my capability will be. Though there were hiccups this week in trying to keep to the training plan, I’ve largely done well with it, being patient and getting out despite the cold (which is hopefully coming to an end now!)

Monday – 5 mile jog

A nice relaxed jog, preparing my mind for the week ahead. For some reason I’d had an almost sleepless night (and typically only got to sleep shortly before I was due to wake up!), had work and errands to deal with. It was all I could do to squeeze a jog in right before yet another work meeting, thankful a workout session wasn’t due until tomorrow.

Strava data here.

Tuesday – 2x[8x(200m fast + 2 min jog)+5 min jog]

This was a fun workout session, basically short strides with jogs. As a couple of drivers let me cross a road I waited at, it occurred to me what a sight I must have been to them:

Grey cap; blue running buff over my mouth like a bandit; purple t-shirt; shorts in near-zero temperature; odd socks (and not in a cool way) and; lime green trainers!

Nonetheless, I imagine myself looking cool at sub-5:00/mile pace, so it balances out!

The only issue came halfway through when I realized my distance would come up short. Improvising by incorporating the reverse of an old route, it turned into a good 8 mile route I can use in the future.

My mathematical skills continuing to lack, I’d calculated I was barely on pace for the splits. On analysis afterwards, it turned out I was actually way faster than target pace for all but one (which was uphill). Maybe the clothes do make the man; even if they are bizzare!

Strava data here.

Wednesday – 5 mile jog

I unexpectedly had to collect daughter’s violin from a repair shop, and with work getting in the way of life, the most efficient use of my time was jogging back from the shop. Despite wearing a thick, heavy Timberland coat, thick winter jumper and worn out trainers, while carrying a loaded backpack and the violin!

That I considered doing a run rather than catch a bus home or going home and then driving there shows I’m back to my old mentality; running as a first resort. This is despite running up 13 flights of stairs at the office that morning (I managed it last week for the first time in ages, though that was later followed by having to chase a bus down to the next stop after it showed up late and didn’t let me on. I beat and caught it, and the driver didn’t even have the backbone to look at me as I entered.)

I intentionally didn’t look at my phone the whole time, running to feel rather than target a pace. Looking at the stats afterwards, it was encouraging to see that it had nearly been a progression pace despite a couple of significant uphills on the way. Then again, maybe I didn’t need to look at the splits to see I’d put effort in; my jumper was soaking with sweat when I finished!

Strava data here.

Thursday – 13x(100m sprint + 300m jog)

I was originally due to run 5 mins fast with 3 min recovery, 3 times. Looking forward to it all day, I imagined the pace I’d target, reflective of what I’d be capable on race day. It would be at the track, due to my daughter having a session there. Imagine my disappointment to see a quarter of the track covered in ice!

I tested a couple of strides on that section, but didn’t fancy my chances; I’m clumsy enough at the best of times. Fortunately, a club member happened to be running laps at the same time and suggested running 100m sprints together on a safe section with 300m jog recovery. I hadn’t done such a session before but relished the challenge of pushing myself to true sprint – imagining myself as Usain Bolt against Yohan Blake. It was crazy to see 3:20ish per mile flash up regularly, with the thought of elites running that for a whole mile bewildering.

In between reps, it was nice to chat with my clubmate about races, footwear, etc; it all adds towards the rebuilding of the running mentality. On the downside, my legs were ached to a degree not experienced for years; thank goodness for rest day!

Strava data here.

Sunday – 4x(800m fast + 3min recovery) + 4x(400m faster + 3 min recovery)

I was supposed to have ran this on Saturday, but with last minute events and a chunk of the day already planned to be taken up, I forewent (hey, that’s actually a word!) the long run in favour of the workout. Excited to try out a superspeed pace to show my newfound ability… it was quickly hampered by heavy wind (which I can hear in my house as I type this!) which followed me as a headwind in every direction!

Giving it all I had, my pace was way off target throughout, not helped by most of the efforts coinciding with uphills. Still, hopefully this was still enough of a workout so that when conditions are favourable I’ll be back to my usual pace.

Strava data here.

Leave a comment