2 – 8 April 2018

A low mileage week as my kids were on half term and my wife was away. If you remember nothing else from this week’s blog, a father in such a situation is parenting, not babysitting!

Tuesday – 5k

Rushing out for a light run, it occurred to me seconds later that I hadn’t checked the weather or even looked out the window first! Fortunately it was only drizzling, but to be honest I don’t think even torrential rain would have bothered me!

Throwing in a couple of strides, it was pretty relaxed and enjoyable.

Strava data here.

Friday – 5 miles

With my wife returning from her trip and taking the kids for the day, I could finally rest and relax, enjoying time to myself. Translation: I went running!

I kept a steady pace despite not looking at my watch, and felt pretty comfortable with it regardless of the strong breeze in my face for the first half.

Strava data here.

Sunday – long run

With a Facebook reminder displaying that I have a mere two weeks until the London Marathon, I figured a decent long run was a necessity. Despite fantasies of me defying all odds and logic to run it sub-2:45, the reality is that my PB ambitions will have to be postponed for now. Quite honestly, if I could get away with cancelling my hotel booking I’d have deferred my place until next year. I’m locked in though, so I’ll be running it nonetheless. However, it is a great atmosphere there – moreso than possibly any other in the UK – so I’ll enjoy myself while just aiming for a sub-3 time.

Heading out first thing this morning, I wasn’t 100% of the route I’d take. I figured getting to Edgbaston Reservoir would be about 8.5 miles, then add in a few laps of that and around Winson Green before heading to church. Though I’m not a morning person, I kept my pace reasonably close to 7:00 min/mile from the start and enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, reaching the Reservoir exactly when I planned to.

*we interrupt this blog post for a Great Run Local interlude*

In the midst of my pseudo-planning for the run, I figured it would coincide with when GRL would hold their 5k run. Perfect!

Arriving just as the group finished their warm-up, I was able to start the run without much cooldown. I swear that guy looks familiar…

Go!

I found myself in 5th place from the start. I wasn’t fussed; I wasn’t racing this one, even if a high position would have been nice. Before long though, I worked my way up to 3rd, within spitting distance of the first two runners. As tempting as it was to keep pace with them, I forced myself to hold back and just maintain a steady pace, remembering that I still had another 8 miles to run afterwards!

The first two runners started to drift off, clearly embroiled in a battle of their own. Oh, to have started this race fresh without a run afterwards. I would have loved to have joined in!

The run went pretty quietly and I only glanced back once to see where 4th place was, more out of curiosity than concern of being passed. I was probably a good thirty seconds ahead nonetheless.

Finishing the race comfortably in about 21 minutes (didn’t check, didn’t care), I chatted with the second place runner who had was blitzed in the last quarter and looked familiar for a reason; I follow him on Strava! We had a leisurely chat about races past and to come, with him targeting a similar time to the one I’ll pace at the Birmingham 10k next month.

*we now return to the long run*

Ow!

Rookie mistake, I stood still and chatted for too long after the run; my legs had seized up! Struggling to get around the remainder of the Reservoir, I decided to just run more lap before heading off to church, barely managing 8:00 min/mile. 14 miles total; not what I had in mind, but better than nothing.

To be honest, it felt worse sitting in church all sweaty in t-shirt and shorts while I waited for my wife to arrive with my clothes!

Strava data here.

3 thoughts on “2 – 8 April 2018

  1. I just had to withdraw from Manchester at the last minute as I wasn’t well enough to go, but I’ll be there cheering at London and will try to spot you (will you be in the usual Centurions vest?). Best of luck for the remainder of your taper.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shame about Manchester, hopefully you’ll be able to run another before long. I’ll make sure to look out for you, all support is appreciated! Where about will you be? I’ll wear my Centurion vest, hopefully distinctive enough amongst the costumes that’ll be on display!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am hoping to be around Westferry Tube so around 14.75 and then about 20.5 – I’ll be waiting for my friend to go through 14.75 before shifting, so will prob see you there. Good luck! Happy tapering!

        Like

Leave a comment